Skip to content

« Back to News

Essential workers and those prioritised for testing

By DTA | 8th February 2021 | News

An extract from the list of essential workers and those prioritised for testing in England:

See separate lists for Scotland,  Wales  and Northern Ireland .

All NHS and social care staff, including:

  • doctors, nurses, midwives, paramedics, social workers, care workers, and other frontline health and social care staff, including community pharmacists and their staff, students on clinical placements, volunteers and unpaid carers
  • the support and specialist staff required to maintain the UK's health and social care sector
  • those working as part of the health and social care supply chain, including producers and distributors of medicines, and medical and personal protective equipment
  • NHS Blood and Transplant frontline staff (blood donation staff, specialist nurses for organ donation, staff running therapeutic apheresis services in NHS hospitals)
  • those providing ancillary support to NHS workers (such as hotel accommodation for NHS staff)

A government announcement on 1 February states: 'People living in postcodes CR4, EN10, GU21, ME15, N17, PR9, W7, WS2: Everyone over 16 is strongly encouraged to get a coronavirus (COVID-19) test. Find out how to get a test on your local authority website .'

Recent Articles